About this blogger:
Ronda Chervin received a Ph.D. in Philosophy from Fordham University and an MA in Religious Studies from Notre Dame Apostolic Institute. A widow, mother, and grandmother, she currently teaches philosophy at Holy Apostles College and Seminary in Cromwell, Connecticut. Write to her at chervinronda@gmail.com.
Connect on Facebook:
Connect on Twitter:
"Upon the road, René was always occupied with God. His words and the discourses he held were all expressive of submission to the commands of Divine Providence, and showed a willing acceptance of the death which God was sending him. He gave himself to God as a sacrifice, to be reduced to ashes by the fires of the Iroquois, which that good Father's hand would kindle. He sought the means to bless Him in all things and everywhere. Covered with wounds as he himself was, Goupil dressed the wounds of other persons, of the enemies who had received some blows in the fight as well as those of the prisoners. He opened the vein for a sick Iroquois. And he did it all with as much charity as if he had done it to persons who were his best friends."
— St. Isaac Jogues (writing in 1643)

   Send an E-mail to Dr. Ronda Chervin, Ph.D.
Types of Pride I Never Thought Of
published 18 July 2011 by Dr. Ronda Chervin

At the International Institute of Tribunal and Theological Studies, Msgr. Chaffman summarized ideas he found about types of pride. I thought they would interest you.

1. Pride of Timidity – this where from fear of not being perfect we can’t stand being prominent. I can come from being criticized too much as a child, but basically it is pride to think we could be perfect and to feel terrible that we may be shown not to be perfect. Ronda’s comment: my godfather used to say that we should see ourselves as weak little creatures and humbly confess to God during the day “Well, that’s what I’m like. I make mistakes. I have faults. Help me.” The opposite is self-hatred because I am not perfect.

2. Pride of Sensuality – A romantic urge for self-gratification; too much need for affection. Ronda: Maybe what “pride of life” means in Scripture? The pride comes in because we think we merit lots of lots of pleasure and affection vs. having our minds on how to serve others?

3. Pride of Sensitivity – seeing oneself as a victim. Ronda: used to be called 'touchiness.’ Again, it is as if others have to suffer due to original sin, etc., but I should have a charmed life?

4. Pride of Dictatorship – this is obvious and the one we mostly identify as pride. A form of this common nowadays is what is called micro-managing.

Well, that will be enough to provide you and I with matter for Confession!

Read more blog entries by Dr. Ronda by visiting RONDAVIEW. Dr. Ronda Chervin has many free e-books and audios on her website rondachervin.com. If you go to her website and read or listen and then want to correspond with her she will be available. Her schedule does not permit, however, responding to comments on the Blog, though she enjoys reading them. Dr. Ronda’s newest project is spiritualityrunningtogod.com.